Banana Bread

4 Mar

What a dainty little bundt! One of my sweet co-workers just had a beautiful baby girl and so we decided to set up a dinner rotation to keep her mind out of the kitchen and on that little bundle of joy. I was picked to send dessert and decided to make banana bread. Since the dinner rotation will continue for a few weeks, I figured she would eventually have cakes and pies running out of her ears.

Banana bread can serve two purposes. Dessert and breakfast. Since I already had some bananas that needed to either be thrown away or be blended up, I decided to go for it! I had a little batter left over so I even got to make us a small loaf. Jason was SO excited. He loves the stuff.

My mom and grandmother’s recipe calls for 1/2 c. of Crisco. I didn’t quite have 1/2 c. so I opted for oil instead. It still turned out great!

Banana Bread

Time: 1 hr.
Level: Easy
Servings: 6+

3 bananas, well mashed
1 c. sugar
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 c. vegetable oil
2 c. flour (1 c. can be whole wheat)
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
Preheat the oven to 350°. Mash the bananas in mixing bowl. Add sugar, eggs and oil, mixing well each time. Add dry ingredients to banana mixture. Pour in greased 5×9 loaf pan and bake 55-60 minutes, or until golden brown. Pop out onto a wire rack and let cool. Yum!
Tips
- As you can see, I used a mini bundt pan and had enough left over to make another very thin loaf. I reduced the cook time to 40 minutes for the bundt and 20 minutes for the thin loaf.
– Try a slice toasted with either a smear of cream cheese or peanut butter.
-I sprinkled a little cinnamon on the top of the batter once I poured it into the pans. It added a little more flavor.
- For more flavor, you can add a little vanilla flavoring to the batter while mixing the wet ingredients.
4 Responses to “Banana Bread”

  1. Stubbs March 4, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    I added a little bit of Apricot brandy once instead of vanilla…super success!

    • Sunny March 4, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

      That sounds really good!

  2. gail mateer March 7, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    I missed your banana bread post.
    So you used your mom’s recipe? We have a joke about the color comparison in our breads. If you ever post banana pudding PLEASE don’t use hers ( joke about that too), Oh and our scalloped pineapple.

    Any way, yours looked delicious, and about right now, I’d even eat the red bow!

    • Sunny March 7, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

      Hahahah! Is your banana bread the dark one or the light one? I’ve heard about a few of these feuds!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

