Fruit Smoothie

25 Feb

When my alarm goes off at 5 in the morning, I start to question my chosen profession. Why have I chosen, yes, actually CHOSEN, to wake up everyday before the sun does? Ugh.

The only thing dragging me out from under my warm and cozy covers is the promise of a good breakfast. I LOVE breakfast. If I am running behind and have to grab a bowl of cereal, I get off on the wrong foot. And no one wants their teacher to start the day off on the wrong foot…

I love making smoothies in the morning because they are quick and easy and seriously only take about 3 minutes more than pouring a bowl of cereal. Plus, you can drink them while blow drying your hair! My students don’t know it, but they should be thanking me for this recipe.

Fruit Smoothie

Cook Time: 5 minutes
Level: Easy
Servings: 2

1/2 c. frozen fruit, any variety
1 banana
1/2 c. plain yogurt
1/2 – 3/4 c. milk
a good squeeze of honey

Pour all ingredients into the blender and blend until smooth. Add a few ice cubes and blend if you want the smoothie to be thicker. Yum!

Tips
-You can use fresh fruit if you want to but make sure to add the ice cubes.
-You can substitute the honey for 1/4c. of either apple or orange juice or a little agave nectar.
-Add protein powder or flax seed oil if you’d like.
-This recipe is so versatile. I always add the banana but I change up the other fruit often. A single fruit is great but here are a few if my fav combos:

1. Blueberries and peaches

2. Strawberries and blackberries

3. Raspberries and blackberries

-This is a great way to use up bananas that are too ripe for anything but banana bread.
-This is also a great way to use up leftover fruit from making a cobbler or something else.
-You can use flavored yogurts but I chose plain because, in my efforts to grocery shop only once a month, plain yogurt can be used in many other recipes.

-Try doubling the recipe and drinking some as a snack when you get home from work or working out. It’ll keep you out of the chip bag when you walk in the door starving and you can’t wait until dinner.

2 Responses to “Fruit Smoothie”

  1. omgyummy March 13, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog last week and commenting on the savory cheese and chive bread. I love making smoothies – the honey is a good idea! I’ve been trying different types of honey recently – orange, clover, blackberry and what a difference in flavor they have. Great on pancakes and so many things!

    Love that you try to scrounge through your pantry and use up everything you have! Fun blog.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 Healthy Back to School Quick Breakfast Ideas « Pantry Chef - August 11, 2011

    […] 2. Fruit Smoothie – Delish with a slice of whole wheat toast and a schmear of peanut butter. […]

Leave a Reply

