Crispy Onion Baked Chicken

2 Mar

My dad, a self professed onion hater, would totally disapprove of this recipe. I, however, think it is delicious. The crispy onions make the chicken crunchy and flavorful and make a solid breading for this baked chicken recipe.

I created this recipe from a recipe I saw on French’s website. The recipe calls for chicken drumsticks, which I didn’t have. Drumsticks also take a long time to bake and time is something else I didn’t have. So I attempted the recipe with chicken breast tenderloins and it turned out great.

French fried onions aren’t just good for green bean casseroles! Other than this recipe, they are great as a salad topper and excellent on a grilled burger with BBQ sauce.

Crispy Onion Baked Chicken

Time: 30 minutes
Level: Medium
Servings: 4

3 cups (6 oz.)  French fried onions

6 large chicken breast tenderloins

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

2 large eggs, beaten

Heat oven to 350°F. Pour French fried onions and flour into a zip-loc bag. Crush onion mixture. Transfer to shallow bowl or plate.

Dip tenderloins into beaten eggs, then coat in crushed onions and flour mixture.

Place tenderloins in greased baking dish.

Bake 20 min. or until no longer pink inside. Yum!

Tips
– You don’t have to transfer the onion and flour mixture to a shallow dish. You can put the egg coated chicken in the zip-loc bag and shake it around to coat if you want fewer dishes to wash.
– You can also add a little cayenne powder to the onion and flour mixture if you want you chicken to have a kick.

– Jason dipped his in BBQ sauce… he said it was yum!

3 Responses to “Crispy Onion Baked Chicken”

  1. amberscookbook March 5, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    I totally have that same baking dish. 🙂

    • Sunny March 5, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

      I think it was a hand-me-down but I use it ALL of the time!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. John Wayne BBQ Burgers « Pantry Chef - March 28, 2011

    […] cheddar cheese, and bacon. My take on the burger stemmed from leftover French fried onions from my Crispy Onion Baked Chicken recipe and a killer craving for the new Muenster cheese I just bought. Ahh, a perfect creation! I […]

Leave a Reply

