Chicken, Pesto, and Peas Pasta – Super Easy Monday Dinner!

21 Mar

This is a recipe that is super quick… I took  A LOT of help from the store on this one. Mondays are just so busy in my house. Getting back into the swing of things is tough when you’ve been go, go, go all weekend. All I ever want to do is kick off my shoes and sit the heck down. Spending a TON of time in the kitchen is sometimes not an option so ideas like this one are great to have handy. I say “ideas” because the recipe is fairly arbitrary. Just throw in whatever you have on hand and it’s gonna taste good.

This recipe calls for store-bought pesto. The kind that comes in a little jar and stays in the fridge after you open it is my favorite.  This little jar is a miracle worker on a busy night. You can use it a million different ways. Here are a few of my favorites:
– Spread pesto instead of pizza sauce on a quick pizza
– Spread pesto on a tortilla with leftover chicken or lunch meat and other toppings for a quick wrap
– Roll out crescent roll triangles, top each with a little pesto, a tomato slice (seeded), and a little mozzarella cheese. Bake for about 8-10 minutes for a super quick appetizer or light lunch.

Chicken, Pesto, and Peas Pasta

Time: 15 minutes
Servings: 2
Level: Easy

1 c. spaghetti noodles
1/3 c. frozen peas
2 – 3 tbsp. pesto
1/4 – 1/3 c. chicken, cooked and cubed
1/8 c. Italian style cheese blend (or use parmesan or mozzarella)

Boil noodles according to packaged directions. In the last two minutes of boiling, add peas.

Continue boiling until done. Drain pasta and peas, reserving 2 tbsp. of the cooking liquid. Stir in pesto and chicken. Add reserved cooking liquid if needed. Top with cheese and serve warm or cold. Yum!

Tips
– Leftovers are great so double the recipe and take some to work the next day!
– sun-dried tomatoes are a delicious addition.
– Use the same pot for boiling and mixing for less dishes.
– Use whole wheat pasta for added nutrients.

10 Responses to “Chicken, Pesto, and Peas Pasta – Super Easy Monday Dinner!”

  1. Still Unwritten March 21, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    I miss Restaurant Noffsinger. Can’t wait for June!

    • Sunny March 27, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

      Restaurant Noffsinger misses you and your blackberry crisp!

  2. milegonzalez March 22, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    I love pesto pasta! I posted about it last night in my blog!
    Isn’t it amazing?! Thanks for the visit! I love your pictures, they’re inviting!

  3. Zojirushi March 30, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    This looks good…and I’d like to try..but forgive my ignorance here – what are spaghetti noodles? Is that just regular spaghetti? And, if so, how do you measure a cup? Sorry if this is completely obvious question to others..

    • Sunny March 30, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

      Those are great questions! Yes, it is just regular spaghetti. Bowtie pasta would also work well. As far as measuring is concerned, I usually eye-ball it and just boil as much as I think the two of us will eat. I have seen a kitchen gadget that has holes in it where you put the spaghetti to measure them but I’ve never used one. A great example is this one: http://www.recipetips.com/glossary-term/t–38321/pasta-or-spaghetti-measure.asp
      If I ever boil to much, I usually save the cooked noodles with a tiny amount of olive oil on them. You can use them as a light lunch or side dish the next day or even freeze them. Freezing them changes the texture a tad so it is generally not recommended but I’ve never seemed to notice much of a difference if you allow them to defrost on their own. I hope this helps!

  4. mindy March 30, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    I scrolled through your recipes and I want to make every single one—I think I’ll start with the enchiladas, then the shrimp, perhaps the burger after that….Dang it girl, how am I suppose to come up with my own if I’m making yours? Yummmy is coming from my hungry tummy!

    • Sunny March 31, 2011 at 6:08 am #

      Mindy, I’m so glad you stopped by! Let me know what you think if you make them and I hope you enjoy everything.

  5. Eva Baker July 6, 2014 at 5:47 pm #

    This was great and an easy way to use the pesto we bought from a farm market. Thank you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How To Grocery Shop Once A Month… And Still Eat Healthy! Part 1: Shop Thoughtfully « Pantry Chef - April 2, 2011

    […] products that can be used in a multitude of ways. Jarred spreads or sauces, like a really good pesto or sun-dried tomato chutney, can be used on pasta, spread on sandwiches or wraps, or can even be […]

  2. Chicken and Pesto Quesadillas « Pantry Chef - April 15, 2011

    […] quick lunch when your sick and tired of PB&J. As I’ve said before, a store bought jar of pesto can save your culinary life when you’re in a […]

Leave a Reply

