Potato Soup

30 Mar

It’s another blustery day here in Memphis. Where, oh, where did Spring go? I thought, for a split second, it was here to stay…

The most amazing woman on the planet, my mother, of course, taught me how to make this soup when I was in college. She might not remember but I was home one Christmas break and she made it, just throwing things in the pot as she went along. Ever since watching her, I’ve been making and loving this soup.  Every time I make it, I am reminded of her and making/eating it makes me feel like I’m getting a big ole’ hug from momma!

And no matter who you are, there is NOTHING like a big hug from momma.

Potato Soup

Time: 30 minutes
Servings: 4
Level: Easy

1 c. diced potatoes
1/4 c. carrots, chopped
2 tbsp. onion, chopped
2 tbsp. butter
1 1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. celery seed
1 tsp. pepper
2-3 c. whole milk
Dash of hot sauce

Combine all ingredients in a large pot. Cook over medium-low heat, stirring often, until potatoes are tender, about 20 minutes. Yum!

Tips
– Try topping the soup with a sprinkle of shredded cheese and/or green onions right before serving.
– Add ham, smoked sausage, or bacon for all you meat eaters out there. I added ham to mine tonight.
– You can use 2% milk and add 1/2 c. sour cream if you don’t have whole milk.
– Don’t forget about stirring! If you walk away, cover the pot with a lid, or turn the heat up too high, you’re going to end up with a mixture that grossly resembles scrambled eggs.
– My dad, husband, and I add a TON of hot sauce, like Louisiana Hot Sauce, to our soup. The pinker the better! My mom doesn’t like it though…

4 Responses to “Potato Soup”

  1. Anonymous March 30, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Your mom sounds amazing! I bet she cooks really well since all your posts look so good!

    • Sunny March 31, 2011 at 6:06 am #

      Thanks! My mom really is amazing! I’m a lucky girl!

  2. gail mateer March 31, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    I make potato soup, too, and of course it is completely different from your mom’s. Do you think we make toast the same way?

    • Sunny March 31, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

      Probably not… depends on when you butter it, before or after you toast. Haha!

Leave a Reply

