Quinoa Curry… In a Hurry!

5 Apr

My adventures with quinoa have only just begun and I already have a totally different view of the nutty goodness. Tonight’s dinner was legit, if I do say so myself.

I came up with tonight’s dinner idea out of a craving for Trader Joe’s red curry sauce that I so dearly miss… Come on Memphis! Get it together. I NEED a Trader Joe’s. For those of you reading in a sacred T.J. zone, grab a bottle of Two Buck Chuck, a piece of freshly baked naan, heat up the onion bhajis, and think of me. Poor little ‘ole me who thinks about the good old days and Trader Joe’s in my backyard with a pain in my heart at least once a week.

Tonight was one of those night. Ouch, the pain! What I wouldn’t do for a jar of their red curry sauce… Ah, heaven! Well, the next best thing I could think of to satisfy this craving was to come up with my own red curry sauce. I wasn’t expecting to mimic the sauce exactly… Just get as close as I could. Needless to say, I was so very happy with the outcome.

Normally, I would serve red curry over a bed of brown rice. Tonight… quinoa. And I would do it again in a heartbeat!

Quinoa Red Curry

Time: 20 minutes
Servings: 4
Level: Easy

1/4  c. onion, chopped
1 garlic clove, minced
1 chicken breast, cooked and diced OR 1 can garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 c. green peas, frozen
1 1/2 tsp. ginger powder or 1 tsp. fresh ginger, minced
1 1/2 tsp. curry powder, or more to taste
1/2 tsp. cayenne
1 15 oz. can diced tomatoes
1 c. cooked quinoa
salt, to taste

Sauté onions and a sprinkle of salt in a medium sized skillet over medium-high heat until onions become translucent. Add garlic, diced chicken or beans, peas, ginger, curry, and cayenne. Stir ingredients together and heat for about 1 minute. Add the can of tomatoes and cooked quinoa.

Reduce the heat to low and cover. Simmer for about 10 minutes so liquid can absorb.

Yum!

Tips
– Make it vegetarian by using garbanzo beans (chick peas) instead of chicken.
– Add roasted red peppers if you have them for a sweeter curry.
– Try using fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of regular.
– Serve with warmed Naan (a traditional Indian flat bread),  pita bread, or tortillas.

One Response to “Quinoa Curry… In a Hurry!”

Leave a Reply

