Chili Cheese Turkey Dogs

20 Jun

These are some serious knife and fork dogs. The spicy chili and grilled hot dog combo is a classic that simply can’t be beat.

I NEVER order these when I’m out because chili can be unpredictable and VERY VERY fatty. You never know what the consistency is going to be like and you can never tell what cut of meat has been used. I like my chili chunky. I want to be able to see the meat, beans, and tomatoes and taste them all individually if I wanted to. I know, I know… I’m such a weirdo.

This chili is not just good on hot dogs. It is also delicious when served alone, on top of Fritos or tortilla chips, topped with sour cream and cheese, or any combination of the three. An added bonus?! This chili recipe is quick and easy and only takes 15 minutes to make!

Speedy Spicy Chili

Servings: 4
Time: 15 minutes
Level: Easy

1/2 onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 lb. ground turkey or ground beef
1 can chili ready tomatoes
1 can chili beans
1/4 c. jalapeños
1 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. cumin

In a deep sauté  pan over medium-high heat, cook onions and garlic in a little oil until they become fragrant. Add meat and cook until no longer pink. Add remaining ingredients and continue to cook, stirring often, until chili reduces and becomes thick. Yum!

Grill hot dogs, place in warmed hot dog buns, and top with chili and shredded cheese. Yum!

Tips
– My dad likes to add mustard to the top of his chili dogs.
– Jason likes to add sour cream.
– You can use regular hot dogs instead of turkey dogs.
– You can also leave the meat out of the chili and use vegetarian hot dogs.

5 Responses to “Chili Cheese Turkey Dogs”

  1. Janet@fromcupcakestocaviar June 21, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    Oh YUM! Now I want chili cheese dogs…at 1 am 😛

    • Sunny June 21, 2011 at 8:47 am #

      Haha! They could make a good midnight snack I suppose! Haha!

  2. The Mom Chef June 21, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    Sour cream? That’s a new one. I’m also one of those that won’t order chili dogs out, but that’s more because I don’t trust the dog itself. I love hot dogs, but I need to know who makes them so I know what’s in them. Paired with this amazing chili, yeah, I’ll be giving these dogs a try.

    • Sunny June 21, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

      I hope so! They really are yummy. And yes…. however weird sour cream may sound, it really balances out the spiciness of the chili. Delish!

  3. Sandra June 22, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    I like mustard on mine also. This looks super yummy and filling.

Leave a Reply

