Crouton Encrusted Tilapia

15 May

As I’ve said before, I am always looking for ways to incorporate more fish into my diet. I know it is healthier but I just really don’t care for it all that much. That means my fish recipes MUST pack a punch.

This tilapia is made from ingredients I almost always have on hand. So it is an easy, go-to, recipe on a busy night.

Crouton Encrusted Tilapia

Servings: 2
Time: 15 minutes
Level: Easy

1/2 of a handful of Parmesan-garlic flavored salad croutons
2 tilapia fillets, thawed
1/4 c. Parmesan cheese, shredded
1/8 tsp. cayenne
1 tbsp. butter, melted

In a food processor, chopper, or blender,  pulse croutons until they become fine like breadcrumbs. Add cheese and cayenne and pulse again to mix everything together.

Blot tilapia with a paper towel to dry it off a little. Coat both sides of the fillets with melted butter then with crouton mixture.

Preheat oven to 400°. Put breaded fillets in the fridge for a few minutes, while the oven preheats. Place fillets on a greased roasting pan or wire rack placed on top of a cookie sheet or baking dish.

Bake 12-15 minutes, or until fish flakes easily with a fork. Yum!

Tips
– Try using chicken instead of fish.
– You can use regular or other flavored croutons if you want.

One Response to “Crouton Encrusted Tilapia”

  1. Lizz Witherspoon November 20, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    I’m making this for my husband tonight, minus the cayenne pepper… I didn’t have any in the pantry… I hope he enjoys it! 🙂 It smells delicious!

Leave a comment