Baked, Not Fried, Ravioli

26 Feb

I had 2 tablespoons of ricotta cheese left over from making lasagna. What am I going to do with just 2 tablespoons? I almost threw it away. But then I remembered I had a few wonton wrappers leftover. Why not make a few baked raviolis as an appetizer?

I LOVE fried ravioli dipped in marinara sauce but I hate the fact that it’s fried. After trying baked mozzarella sticks made with wonton wrappers, I figured I couldn’t lose. The results were really yummy. I could see myself making these again and substituting the roasted red peppers for other fillers like spinach or even Italian sausage.

Baked Ravioli

Servings: 2 people, 2 ravioli each but you can adjust the recipe accordingly
Time: 15 minutes
Level: Medium

2 tbsp. ricotta cheese
1 sprinkle garlic powder
1 sprinkle salt
1 sprinkle Italian seasoning
1/2 tbsp. roasted red peppers, finely chopped
4 wonton wrappers
2 tsp. Parmesan cheese, shredded

Preheat oven to 350°. Mix first 5 ingredients together. Spoon a little of the ricotta mixture into the center of each wonton wrapper.

With finger, moisten the edges of the wrappers with water. Fold wrappers over and press edges together to seal.

Sprinkle wontons with Parmesan cheese. Place on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. Serve with marinara sauce for dipping. Yum!

Leave a comment