Chili and Cheddar Biscuits

28 Feb

Last night, I was inspired by a recipe I saw on Smitten Kitchen. The recipe looked rustic and homey and exactly what I was in the mood for. Here is a link to it if you want to try it out. If you do, please let me know!

Chili and Cheddar Biscuits

However,  I was not about to make my own chili and biscuits tonight so I decided to go to my freezer and look around. I found a bag of some kind of sloppy joe-ish, chili-ish sauce that I had made a few weeks ago and decided that might just do the trick. I also had two garlic-cheddar biscuits leftover…bingo! Dinner was on the table in a mere 10 minutes… scouts honor!

All I had to do was brown up some hamburger meat, add the sauce, toast the biscuits, and throw some green beans in a pot to simmer. Yum!

Tonights dinner reminded me of why I started this blog. The delicious sloppy joe-ish, chili-ish sauce that I made and froze awhile back will never be made again because I have no idea of what ingredients I used or how I made it. It was just one of those, “oh this looks good, I’ll add some of that, those flavors will meld, right?” kinds of nights.

Nonetheless, tonight’s meal passed the husband test, and for that, I’m thankful.

Tips
– This tip is straight from my mom. Since I only grocery shop once a month, the freezer gets full in a hurry. She suggested freezing hamburger meat in individual zip-loc bags and smooshing it down flat so that, once frozen, can be easily stacked or stood up against the freezer wall.

This also cuts down on thawing time. This flat bag will thaw in no time!

I have started doing this with EVERYTHING! As you can see, I had even done it with the sauce I used tonight. Ingenious, mom. Thanks!

9 Responses to “Chili and Cheddar Biscuits”

  1. Tammy February 28, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    This looks easy and delicious!

  2. Tammy February 28, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    What a truly ingenious idea of freezing foods flat. Thanks for the tips!

  3. Kimberly February 28, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    This looks great and you do have great ideas. I look forward to seeing more of your recipies and ideas. 🙂

  4. Britt February 28, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    mmm looks soo good, I ❤ biscuits!

  5. Lindsay February 28, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    okay totally just discovered you have a blog. i also have one and i blog all my recipes too: lindzandryan.blogspot.com Warning: my blog is incredibly dorky sometimes, but it’s fun and helps me keep up with my recipes! I’m totally going to try your salmon recipe! looks yum!

    • Sunny February 28, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

      Lindsay! I love your blog, too!!! Your soup looks yummy. I’ll have to try it. I also love your picture on your homepage. You guys look so sweet and happy.

  6. Firefly March 2, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    LOL I thought I was the only one who does that with the meat and food for the freezer. I, same as you make one big store trip a month and try to get as big of a variety of foods and meats. I divide everything in meal sizes and found the flat bag technique to be the best 🙂
    BTW very yummy recipe 🙂

  7. Eloise Thornton March 12, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    All look yummy. I am very proud of you. Your ideas are great. Thanks Nana

  8. the derper April 18, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    once a month! holy cow

Leave a comment