Archive | 4:03 pm

Pancake Trio – Blueberry, Bacon, and Pecan Pancakes

24 Aug

Nothing says breakfast like pancakes. Whenever I go out for breakfast, no matter how hard I try or how many times I read the menu, I must order pancakes. You just can’t beat a pillowy pile of steaming hot cakes with syrup dripping down the sides. YUM!

My favorite type of pancakes are just the plain ole’ standards but every once in a while, I like to mix it up. Since my husband isn’t the biggest fan, I came up with this pancake trio dish to appease him.

He likes pancakes. But he says that after about 4-5 bites, he gets bored with them. Blasphemy, I say, but whatever… to each their own. You can add just about anything to this batter so play around and find your favorite!

Pancakes

Servings: 6 pancakes
Time: 15 minutes
Level: Easy

1 c. baking mix (I use Heart Smart Bisquick)
2/3 c. skim milk
2 tbsp. egg substitute or egg whites
1 tbsp. orange juice
Various add-ins (I used blueberries, turkey bacon (cooked and crumbled), and crushed pecans)

Mix all ingredients, except add-ins, together in a medium sized bowl. Greased a non-stick skillet or griddle with butter. Over medium heat, pour 1/3 cup fulls of batter onto skillet or griddle.

Top each pancake with various add-ins. Flip pancakes once little bubbles appear around the edges. Remove from heat once cooked throughout. Top with warmed syrup and serve. Yum!

Tips
– I like to serve three different types of pancakes on one plate. The variety is delish!
– Banana slices, chocolate chips, strawberries, and small cubes of ham or turkey are also great choices for add-ins.