Homemade Biscuits with PawPaw Hardy’s PB & S Spread

15 Mar

Get outta town with this one! Biscuits are at the center of every Southern table and I FINALLY learned how to make them.

I am still in the learning process. There is a recipe… BUT biscuit making is a serious art and apparently takes years to master. My first and second batch were great! My third, not so much. So hang in there and keep trying!

If anyone knows how to make the biscuits super fluffy, let me know. I’d LOVE a few tips!

This recipe came off of the White Lily Flour bag. My Aunt Carole says it is the best and if I were you, I’d trust her. Whew, she can cook!

Biscuits (Cat Head Biscuits… or so says my PawPaw Dub)

Time: 15 minutes
Level: Medium
Servings: 6 or so

2 cups White Lily Self-Rising Soft Flour
1/4 cup vegetable shortening
3/4 cup milk or buttermilk  (more if needed)

Preheat oven to 500 degrees. Place flour in mixing bowl. With pastry blender or fork, cut in shortening until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

Blend in just enough milk with fork until dough leaves the sides of the bowl. Knead dough gently 10 to 12 strokes. Roll out dough into 2 – 2 1/2 inch patties. Dip a little in flour so they won’t stick.
 

Place biscuits in greased cast iron skillet with sides almost touching.

Bake for 8 to 10 minutes. Yum!



PawPaw Hardy’s PB & S Spread

Time: 3 minutes
Level: Easy
Servings: 6 or so

1/2 c. peanut butter
1/2 c. syrup
1 pad of butter, if desired

Mix all ingredients together.

Spread over biscuits or dip biscuits into the mixture. Yum!

Tips
– Make the PB & S spread. You will LOOOOVVVVEEEE it!
– You can use chunky or regular PB for the spread recipe.
– Grease the cast iron skillet with a touch of Crisco.
– I used soy milk for the biscuits this time because it is what we had. Don’t do that… I won’t do it again. They weren’t as flavorful.

Leave a comment