Archive | 4:20 pm

Chicken Spaghetti… with a Mexican Twist

4 Sep

We love chicken spaghetti. It reminds me of childhood and sorority house Monday night dinners. Yum! Normally, you make chicken spaghetti with one can of cream of chicken and one can of cream of mushroom. But, since I was out of cream of mushroom, I figured I’d take the recipe in a new direction and use a can of condensed nacho cheese soup. I never buy the stuff, honestly… but I was given a few cans by my wonderful Nana and was very glad I had them after tonight! By adding a few spices and changing up the soups, the traditional chicken spaghetti recipe was transformed into a completely different, yet equally delicious, casserole. Enjoy!

Mexican Chicken Spaghetti

Servings: 8-10
Time: 35 minutes
Level: Easy

2 large chicken breasts, cooked and shredded (I simply boil the chicken in water, a little salt, and black pepper until no longer pink)
1 box angel hair pasta, cooked and drained
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 can condensed nacho cheese soup
1 can rotel, undrained
1 c. broth or water
1 c. cheese, shredded (pick your fav… it can be a Mexican variety or just plain cheddar)
1 tbsp. cumin
1/2 tbsp. chili powder
2 tsp. garlic powder

Preheat oven to 350°. In a large bowl, mix all ingredients together. Pour into a 9×13 baking dish. Bake, covered for 25 minutes. Remove cover and bake for an additional 10 minutes. Allow to cool and thicken for 10 minutes before serving. Yum!

Tips
– This dish is waaaay better the next day so leftovers are a must! It is also a great dish to make ahead of time.
– This dish freezes well.