Archive | 4:34 pm

Black Bean Croquettes

11 Sep

Last night, I wanted to make black bean burgers but I couldn’t get my patties thick enough to stay together. I think next time, I’ll try adding brown rice as a binder. I bet that would help.

Since the burger idea wasn’t working out so well, I went in a slightly different direction and made croquettes. They turned out AMAZING! Even my carnivorous husband was impressed and couldn’t believe how filling they were.

The best part of this dish was that all of the ingredients used in the croquettes are ingredients that I always have in stock. I will definitely be making this recipe again when I’m low on groceries!

Black Bean Croquettes

Servings: 4 patties
Time: 30 minutes
Level: Easy

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 tsp. cumin
1 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. garlic powder
2 tsp. dried onion, or freshly diced onions
1/2 c. frozen corn, thawed
1/3 c. plain dry breadcrumbs (divided in half)
1/3 c. tomatoes, diced
1/2 tbsp. olive oil

Preheat oven to 425°. Grease baking sheet. In a bowl, mash black beans, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, and onions with a fork until no whole beans remain. Stir in corn and 1/2 of the breadcrumbs. Stir in tomatoes. In a small bowl, mix remaining breadcrumbs with olive oil.

Divide the bean mixture into 4 patties. Lightly press each patty into the breadcrumb mixture, turning to coat.

Place on baking sheet.

Bake the croquettes until heated throughout and the breadcrumbs are golden brown, about 20 minutes. Yum!

Tips
– Serve with salsa and sour cream.
– Instead of fresh tomatoes, you can use a little rotel.
– Serve with brown rice and a side salad.