Archive | 1:41 pm

Homemade Laundry Detergent

14 Dec

This is so easy to make. It seriously takes all of about 15-20 minutes and works like a charm! I started making my own when I got sick of paying $13 for 1.17 gallons and figured I could make it on my own for about $2.25 per gallon.

I used to use Gain or Arm and Hammer liquid laundry detergent and so far, I have been very happy with the cleaning power of my own concoction.

I store my detergent in an empty and clean milk jug. At first, I tried storing it in an old Gain container but you have to shake the container before using it and the lip at the top of the pourer in the Gain container spilled and made a big mess. The milk jug works great! I use an old laundry container screw on lid as my measuring cup but you could use any kind of cup/measuring cup.

Enjoy!

Homemade Laundry Detergent

Makes: 1 gallon

1/2 bar of Ivory soap, grated
1/4 cup washing soda (found in the laundry aisle in most stores – Arm & Hammer makes it)
1/4 cup borax powder (also in the laundry aisle – look for “20 Mule Team” brand)
3 c. water, plus more to fill a gallon

Put the grated soap in a sauce pan. Over medium heat, add 3 cups water and heat until soap melts. Add washing soda and borax and stir until it is dissolved. Remove from heat.

Pour mixture into a clean gallon sized jug. Add 2 cups hot water to the bucket. Shake to stir. Now add water to fill the jug. Shake to stir. Let the soap sit for about 24 hours and it will gel (it’s a little like magic!). You use ½ cup per load.

Tips
– This soap does not foam, so don’t be surprised when you first use it.
– This soap has no scent. Feel free to add a few drops of essential oil if you want.