Baked Mozzarella Sticks made from Egg Roll Wrappers

29 Dec

So I tried this recipe from Recipe Diaries, which she got from Taste of Home, and it didn’t quite turn out how I thought it would. When I think of mozzarella sticks, I think of ooey gooey cheese that strings on for days. My cheese didn’t exactly melt in the middle of these sticks. I used string cheese, as the recipe calls for, but I think it would work a lot better if I used sticks of real block cheese. The sticks tasted good, they just didn’t mimic the original deep fried version I was craving.

Jason really liked them so I think I’ll try it again using some of the incredible Mississippi State Cheese we got for Christmas.

If you make them, let me know how you liked them/modified them… I really want this healthier version to work!

Baked Mozzarella Sticks

4 pieces of string cheese cut in half
4 egg roll wrappers cut in half
olive oil
salt
marinara, spaghetti sauce, salsa, or ranch

Place a piece of string cheese near the bottom corner of one egg roll wrapper (keep remaining wrappers covered with a damp paper towel until ready to use). Fold bottom corner over cheese. Roll up halfway; fold sides toward center over cheese. Moisten remaining corner with water; roll up tightly to seal. Repeat with remaining wrappers and cheese. Brush cheese sticks with olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Bake at 400°  for 15 minutes. Turn and bake for another 5 minutes. Serve with sauce of choice. Yum!

12 Responses to “Baked Mozzarella Sticks made from Egg Roll Wrappers”

  1. Sarah Misho October 26, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    Made These Last Night & Everyone LOVED Them! I Added A Sprinkle Of Garlic Powder To Some Of Them & Those Were The Favorites. Will Make Them Again For Sure.

    • Sunny October 26, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

      I’m so happy you liked them!

      • Carolyn February 7, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

        I made these for my super bowl party with an asian inspired dipping sauce and it was delicious!! everyone LOVED them! thank you for the great recipe!!

      • Sunny February 7, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

        That sounds delicious! I’m glad everyone liked them.

  2. Jodie Tysver Jensen November 9, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    I tried these, & the mozz’ oozed out before the rice paper browned 😦 do you think I made the wrapper entirely too wet? they were yummy, but I wish they’d stayed more whole!

    • Sunny November 9, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

      Maybe so. I used wonton wrappers which are much thicker than rice paper. Maybe that made a difference. I’m sorry that happened!

    • Cheese Lover - Even if it is messy! February 9, 2014 at 10:32 am #

      So… I did the same thing. I used spring roll wrappers and put them on a pizza stone in the oven. BAD IDEA. The cheese oozed, the cheese dripped onto the bottom of the oven… messy! I will try this again with another kind of wanton wrapper, but I will put it on a cookie sheet with a good sized lip on it. Happy Cheesy Goodness for those of you who actually figured out how to do this right.

  3. skyeblog April 22, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

    Mine all blew out the middle! What did I do wrong??

  4. Sunny May 7, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    Hmm… Did you use the right kind of wrapper and make sure they were sealed really well? What kind of cheese did you use? String cheese doesn’t melt as well as other cheese so it shouldn’t have blown. I’m so sorry that happened!

    • skyeblog May 7, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

      Yes – it was string cheese & egg roll/wonton wrappers. They were sealed well, but blew out of the middle (not along an edge or where sealed). Oh well. Maybe I’ll try again with lower heat? what do you think?

      • Sunny May 7, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

        Oh, no! Yeah… try lower heat and see what happens. Hope it works!

  5. Anonymous August 9, 2014 at 12:41 pm #

    Try freezing the cheese sticks before you use them.

Leave a comment